Mental Health

I am mostly interested, in my aromatherapy and essential oil journey, in 1.) smell (making divine smells without that potent smell of the perfumes you buy in the shops) and 2.) the effect that the right smell could possibly have on our mental health.

20180114_113916-1_resizedSuffering from Depression myself, and having been on anti-depressants for at least 11 years, I will never leave therapy or medication, but I am eager to find the right mix of oils that could help ‘lift’ my spirits. Our sense of smell is so very directly connected to the brain (I am busy reading ‘The Fragrant Mind’ by Valerie Ann Worwood), that it surely must be possible to find smells that are helpful.

I burned the following oils yesterday in a burner, after feeling very very low, and I definitely felt a clarity kicking in and the fog lifting. I need to try it again a few times, however, to confirm, and I am waiting for my grapefruit essential oil to arrive, then I definitely want to add that to the mix.

So, in a burner the recipe is:

Add water to burner

4 drops Clary Sage

2 drops Peppermint

(As soon as my grapefruit oil arrives, I will do 3 drops Clary Sage, 2 drops Grape Fruit, 1 drop Peppermint.)

Try it out, and let me know if you felt something?!

Nicolette

20180114_113821-1_resized

Leave a comment